It Is Well With My Soul

This morning, we woke to the devastating news of the mass shooting in Orlando. They are calling it the deadliest mass shooting in American history. Two hours of terror that ended with over a hundred dead or wounded.

I woke up this morning and saw how close this hits to home as I checked social media. I immediately turned on the news and watched it diligently as I waited to hear from the last of several friends who I knew were down in Orlando.

Even now, there are more questions than answers.

I almost didn’t go to the Gathering this evening, but I decided that I needed to be surrounded by the community that has become my family. Right before I left, I checked my phone one last time and was relieved to see that the last person I know in Orlando had checked in through Facebook to let family and friends know that they were safe. Another good friend had located their significant other who was in the club at the start of the shooting.

One of the things about the Radius community in Greenville is that we don’t always act like a church. The organic nature of this community has led us into a study of prayer and growing closer to the Spirit and Truth of prayer. Tonight, we reflected on how our worship leads us closer to the truth about God and our connection to the Holy Spirit, focusing on the songs we sing.

And through this process, I remembered that no matter what happens in this world, whether it be a natural disaster, act of terrorism, or a struggle of faith, God is there with us. And no matter what, no matter how strong the winds or the waves get, if we focus on God in those moments, we will find the peace in the storm.

We live in a world where acts of terrorism have become part of every day life. We live in a world where people hate others who they have not made the attempt to know as individuals.

But I also know that we live in a world where there is hope found in love.

One of the last songs we sang was a modern rendition to the traditional hymn written by Horatio Spafford, “It Is Well With My Soul.”

And through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
And through it all, through it all
It is well

It was a simple reminder that even though the world is suffering, my soul is at peace because of my trust in the Lord. And the best weapon we have against violence is unconditional love.

And right now, that is what the world needs. Love

Leave a Reply

