The Beauty of the Past

Over the past several months, I’ve had the chance to step back and reflect on the craziness of life over the past several years. To look back at all the good things that I have done, how much I have grown, and all the bridges I have burned and let fall apart. It’s been an adventure. And the more I reflect on the past, the more I can accept the beauty in it.

I recently read a passage in the book The Mountain Shadow, by Gregory David Roberts that states:

The only beauty that the past has it that it can’t be changed. There was nothing you could’ve done, and there’s nothing you can do now.

For so long I second guessed everything that I had done. I looked back at my fears and failures and the times I froze, and all I could think about was what I would change. I was consumed by trying to change those moments. I rationalized them. I explained them. But all I truly wanted was for it to change.

But as I sat back and breathed for the first time in years, after I was able to relax and reflect on this journey of life, these words echoed with my soul.

Someone once told me that the only way I would survive was to realize that in that moment, we give everything we have and all that we are. The only way to live with ourselves is to know that we did everything we could, gave all of our heart and soul. There is nothing more you could have done, nothing more you can do.

This instant you start doubting that is the moment you tear yourself apart from the inside through your doubts.

Instead of holding it in, we have to let it go. And embrace the beauty of the past. Learn from it. But let it go and keep moving forwards, giving everything you can in every moment.

Leave a Reply

