Destinations, Goals, and the Journey to Get There

I have a lot of goals in this life.  I would love to teach art at the collegiate level.  I would love to publish books and stories about this crazy life.  I want to return to Africa for long-term missions.  Spend more time aboard the M/V Africa Mercy (or any ship with Mercy Ships).  Get married.  Live in a tiny home.  Travel.  Wander off the grid.

As a follower of Christ, I know that when I die, my “final” destination will be into the presence of God.  To party in heaven with all the saints, my brothers and sisters.

Between now and then, there is a lot to do.  Years ago, I heard a story about the dash between the dates.  On the gravestone, our lives will be summed up between the date in which we came into this world and the date we left it as a dash. This dash is the accumulation of our time here on this earth.  Our successes. Failures. Stories. And our journey.

In between those dates, we live. We live life to the fullest, embracing what time we have. For many of us, it can be several years. With modern technology, it is possible to live for an entire century. And each moment is a story. Each moment is a breath of life that we can pass on our knowledge, our stories, our experiences to the world in which we live and love.

I don’t have a five year, or a ten year plan. I don’t know what tomorrow will bring. I’ve been trying to live my life in the footsteps of God, one step at a time; how can I follow the path God has placed before my feet if I’m trying to tell God where He should lead me?

And besides, every time I make plans, I know God is up there laughing because He knows so much more than I do.

If God wants me to teach, He will guide me to that opportunity.  If He wants me to publish a book, it will happen.  If I return to missions, to Africa, to Mercy Ships, it will be because He leads my feet back there.

You see, it has nothing to do with the destination.  We will get there when we get there.  It is all about the journey.  The adventure. The path that leads us.

And it has been amazing so far! Oh, the stories I can share about how faithful, how amazing my Father, my Abba is.  If I hadn’t trusted Him, I would not have experienced the blessings that have been poured out in my travels. I would not have experienced the trials, the struggles, the pain that have made me into who I am. Nor would I have experienced the love, the redemption and forgiveness, the joy that constantly lifts me, provides me the strength to trust, to follow Him.

And honestly, I know there is only one destination. And that is closer into the presence of God. And until my last breath, I will continue to pursue, to chase, and to follow Him with everything that I am.

Leave a Reply

