Continuing the Journey

I’ll keep this relatively short, though I don’t know how well that will work.

This is a beginning of a new year.  The old is behind us, and before us is all unknown.  We take this time to plan for our future, to set goals and destinations, so I am going to take the time to share mine:

First: I want to finish Journeys, the adventures of a Nomad.  As many of you know, this is the auto-biography that I am working on to share my stories and adventures with the world.  It’s difficult to find the words required to describe everything that I have seen, all that I have done.  There are things in it that I don’t know if I have ever shared through the written words on paper, so it’s just a little nerve wracking.  That being said, I have one more chapter to type up before I send it off to a good friend for the first round of editing.  Unfortunately, this is the most difficult chapter to write about, so it is taking longer than expected.

Second:  I want to learn to live in the present moment.  I don’t want to be consumed by the things that I could have done in the past, nor do I wish to live worrying about what the future will bring.  Yes, it is important to make plans, but I want to learn to trust God with everything.  Every time I make plans, I know that He shakes His head and laughs a little.  I know that He is trying to teach us now, in this moment, so this is where I need to focus.

Third:  I want to live without regrets.  To live dangerously.  I don’t want to look back and question “what if” anymore.  I want to take accountability for what I do, and live knowing that I did my best in everything that I do.

Finally: I want to be happy.  I want my life to radiate with joy.  I don’t want disappointments and setbacks to define how I live anymore.  I want to be constantly reminded of God’s grace in my life.  I want to live knowing the He loves me, that His love sustains me, guides me, and fills my cup till it overflows and pours out through my thoughts, words, and actions.

These are my New Year Resolutions.

Leave a Reply

