Let It Go

Tonight, Christmas Eve, I watched Disney’s Frozen with my three-and-a-half year old niece and nephew (the beebops).  I’m sure I know what several of you are thinking:  It’s Christmas.  Why aren’t you writing about the birth of Jesus, Santa, and all that good stuff.  Simple answer, my family postponed the arrival of Santa until my brother is able to be here in several days.  (There may be another post tomorrow night about Christmas, so just chill out.)

Back to Frozen.  I’ve seen it twice now.  The first time I watched it with two of my cousins.  And then tonight with the beebops, my sister, brother-in-law, and parents.  It’s a beautiful movie with a powerful message of love.

There is a part that everyone knows and sings along to, when Elsa, the older sister, sings Let it Go.  If you’ve never looked at the lyrics before, they contain a beautiful message about being true to who you really are:

Don’t let them in, don’t let them see
Be the good girl you always have to be
Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know
Well, now they know!

Let it go, let it go
Can’t hold it back anymore
Let it go, let it go
Turn away and slam the door!

I don’t care
What they’re going to say

It’s funny how some distance
Makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me
Can’t get to me at all!

It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me I’m free!

Let it go, let it go
I am one with the wind and sky
Let it go, let it go
You’ll never see me cry!

Here I stand
And here I’ll stay
Let the storm rage on!


I’m never going back,
The past is in the past!

Let it go, let it go
And I’ll rise like the break of dawn
Let it go, let it go
That perfect girl is gone!

Here I stand
In the light of day
Let the storm rage on,
The cold never bothered me anyway!

We can learn so much from the lessons we teach our children.

I love this song because it speaks about the mask that we wear each day.  So many times we hide who we truly are because we are afraid of what others may feel, think, or believe about us.  We change who we are, how we act, how we hold ourselves up, in the hopes that people don’t notice our flaws and perfections.

We are all broken creatures.  We have all experienced shame and fear.  We have all made ourselves out to be heroes or villains.  And we have all experienced that moment when we wished that we could tear off that mask and shout out who we really are.

I’ve done it so much in my journey.  I’ve hidden behind ignorance.  I’ve tried to make myself sound better than I really am.  And so many times I have been held back by the assumptions, fears, and opinions of others.  I wish I could strip them all down, start anew once again.

I guess that’s why I loved moving so much as a child.  Fresh beginnings.  Heck, that is what saved me at times.

I’ve asked myself over and over again, what would people think if they knew the real me.  The one hiding behind the mask of confidence.  The one that bites his tongue so often that he has lost his voice.  The one that would rather hide behind a good book and make art than socialize (oh, wait, I already do that at times).  What would people do?

Better yet, how would I feel?  To be released from the chains of the past, the oppression of thoughts, and the weight of others opinions.  Oh, how glorious that would feel!

We tell ourselves that we are not lying when we put on a show in front of others, but that is exactly what it feels like: a lie.

So, the challenge that I am making, for both you, the reader, and myself: Let it go.  Embrace who you truly are.  And don’t let anything change that.  If people cannot accept you for who you are, then maybe they don’t have a place in your life.  I know that sounds harsh, but if you continue to hold onto them, they will drag you down, smother you, and you will never be able to be free.

Leave a Reply

