Unspoken

Looking back, I wish I had done things differently.  I think we all have thought that at one point in time.  I was going through an older sketchbook and I came across these words:

Things that were never said
Pound and pound inside my head
And although they remain unspoken
I cannot escape what they have awoken

These words echo still in my heart.

I used to write poetry.  Dark thoughts and emotions on the page from the hands of an angry and confused youth.  I still do at times, though the words remain unspoken.

There is something about poetry that allows you to speak of thoughts that one fears to say aloud.  To say things you wish you had the strength to say.

We look back and ask ourselves if things would have turned out differently if we had taken the risk and spoken the words that were in our hearts.  Would the bridges still be burned?  Would someones life be changed?  Would we still be haunted by our actions?

There are so many things that I look back and wish that I said to people that have been part of this journey.  There are so many things that I wish I had done differently.

But the fact is that we cannot go back in time and change the past.  Without these things, we would not be the person we are today.  Those ‘mistakes’ have come to help shape us.

But we still have the chance to reach out and act.  We still have the ability to share the pounding voices in our heads.  It isn’t to late to act.

It isn’t to late to let someone know that your forgive them, that you forgave them a long time ago, but never had the courage to tell them before.  It isn’t to late to share how much you miss the comforting presence  that they used to provide.  Or the love that was shared.

Or that you appreciate all that they have done.  Continue to do.

So, this is my challenge:  Don’t be afraid to speak those unspoken words that you hold in your heart.  Don’t be afraid to act.

1 Comment »

  1. It’s so hard not to fear an outcome, but I think regret feels worse.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

