Into the Darkness (Moving Forward)

Today marks five years since I started writing this blog.  Five years of shared words.  Thoughts.  Hopes.  Dreams.  And always a journey.

I started writing to define who I was as a Christian.  To discover a way to process all the thoughts that raced through my head and to define what I truly believed.  I have shared my journey of discovering faith, the struggle of escaping religion, and the adventure that God has led me on.

For Christmas, my parents provided me the opportunity to put these words into print.  I’ve reread the words that I wrote so long ago, words that seem like a shadow of who I am now.  I smile at how much I have grown, how much I have experienced in these past few years.

I have moved my writings away from doctrine and beliefs, focusing on my own journey of faith, where God has led me, and the adventures that He has allowed me to take part in.

I write because I love it.  I won’t lie, it’s a challenge at times, but I write to share who I am.  I write to let others know both the struggles and joys of this journey.

People keep asking me what is next.  Where am I going?  Am I ever going to settle down?  Do I have a plan for the future?  The answer:  I have no clue.  I will try to follow the path that God has laid out in front of me, but he only reveals a step at a time.

I’ll go ahead and (semi)quote the Joker (from The Dark Knight), because his answer somehow fits: “Do I look like a man with a plan?”  Or this one: “I’m like a dog chasing a car.  I wouldn’t know what to do if I caught it!”

I’m still going to write.  I think I always will.

Speaking of writing:  I may or may not have announced it that I am working on a semi-autobiography titled “Journeys: the adventures of a nomad.”  It is a collection of my adventures, from growing up on military bases to constantly moving, missions trips to Honduras, Uganda and Togo to working at Summer Camps, and my journey with AmeriCorps, from NCCC to FEMA Corps and the ERT.  In it I attempt to show how all this has made me into who I am today.

I’ve been working on it for a little over a year and a half, and I don’t know when it’ll be completed.  I’m still writing the rough draft and transposing it from handwritten on paper to typed up neatly so that others can understand what I am attempting to say.  It’s an adventure in itself.

As for where I am going, when I figure that out I’ll let the world know.

It’s been an amazing five years, so here is too more to come (hopefully)!

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

