A Letter to Those Left Behind

Last night, I wrote about heroes and those brave men and women who sacrifice everything to save the life of another.  I wrote for those who have stood on the edge of darkness and turned back to the light of hope.  But there is a sad truth in the world we live in today:  Heroes fall and the greatest of the legends fail.

We live in a world that is broken.  The unfortunate fact is this, that death’s presence is constantly in our lives.  I am not naïve enough to think that good men are immune to the cold grip of death.  Brothers and sisters.  Mothers and fathers.  Friends and family.  We see it too often in the lives of those closest to us.  I’ve seen it too often in the lives of dear friends both new and old.

This writing isn’t for them, but for those left behind in the silence.  A letter to those I love that have had people close to their hearts ripped away from them…

I may have never met the one your tears fall for, but I see that their life has made a difference.  I may not know who they are or what they did, but I am thankful for the part they played in your life.  Without them, you wouldn’t be the man or woman you are.  They helped to shape you, and you have embraced me as a brother, so I honor the work they did.

There is nothing I can say that will sooth the ache in your heart.  No amount of words will fill the hole that they have left behind.  I see that, so I’ll keep this short.

It’s never going to be easy.  The upcoming days are going to be the hardest you have ever faced.  Each morning you are going to have to face the day with them no longer at your side.  No one will fill their place.  At times you will hear their voice, or catch a glimpse of them in a crowd, or smell the lingering hint of the presence of what they left behind, and it will all come crashing back.  There will be times you wake up only to remember that they are no longer there beside you as you reach out for them.

It’s going to hurt.  It’s going to be difficult.  But remember that you are not alone in this.  There will always be people who love you and that are here for you.  We will never be able to replace the love that was lost, but know that I am here, I will always be here for you.

With love, your brother in Christ.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

As we begin a new year, take time to thank all the heroes in your life.  Let them know that you love them and will always be there for them.

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t know who you wrote this for but its truth echoes in my soul right now. Thank you.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

