Photographs of a Different Age

I recently got another several rolls of black and white film developed through the amazing service of OldSchoolPhotoLab.com (check them out, they are an amazing service to all photographers looking into film).  Looking through them, I have rediscovered my love for film!

My beautiful picture

After posting some of the photos up on Facebook, a good family friend sent me a message stating:

 … it’s so interesting to see the differences between film and digital.  From my non artist (very non artist) [perspective] the film pics evoke more feeling of nostalgia, even though they are recent photos.  I like the grittiness of them.  Makes me want to dig out my old family pictures.

My beautiful picture

That is the joy I find in film.  There is something special about it that cannot be defined.  It’s the basic essence of photography, black and white images.

My beautiful picture

Digital cameras are amazing, don’t get me wrong.  I have an extremely nice one.  But the feelings that you can capture with a single image on film cannot be truly replicated with a digital camera.  It’s as if each grain captures the emotions of the moment.

My beautiful picture

The rolls of film came from several places.  Uganda (2009), family vacation to Edisto, SC and my time with AmeriCorps St Louis Emergency Response Team (AC STL ERT).  Of those images, I noticed that I have issues with focusing, as many of the images are out of focus, blurred or somehow a little off.  But that helps to give each image character.

My beautiful picture

I took my film camera out on Quest and captured some amazing photos of our camp at Panther’s Den and around Devil’s Kitchen.  The way the film captures nature reminds me of adventurers of a time long ago, when the camera was used to capture every day moments.

My beautiful picture

And in some way, film is pure.  Or it is to me.  We can capture a moment in time and treasure it.  You can do the same thing with a digital image, but somehow that isn’t the same.  Emotions are truer.  The image seems more honest with itself, with its imperfections.

My beautiful picture

Film is an art.  And while some are saying that it is a dead and dying art form, I believe that it is necessary to learn.  If it weren’t for the photography courses I took in college, I would not know the basics of the digital imaging.  I think that all photographers should experiment with film and rediscover the root of their passion.

My beautiful picture

And maybe the world of film will no longer be dead or dying.  I hope that there will be a resurgence of youth interested in film photography.  Technology is advancing, but some things we shouldn’t leave behind.

My beautiful picture

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

