You’ll Never Be The Same

I found a quote several weeks ago after a friend posted it, and it has haunted me ever since:

You’ll never be completely at home again, because part of your heart will always be elsewhere.  That is the price you pay for the richness of living and knowing people in more than one place.
– Miriam Adeney

I joke that I am a nomad.  For so many years I have traveled throughout the country and across the world.  I’ve been to Honduras, Spain, Uganda, Togo, South Africa, Ireland and Scotland, not to mention almost all the States (by my count, I’ve visited or been through 46 of them).

I am a wanderer.  An adventurer.  I don’t see myself settling down for any long, extended period of time any time soon.  The road is more than a journey or a destination, but a way to find myself, my purpose, and God.

I’m out here in Montana for another week and a half, and every morning I wake up to find the skies painted in the fiery colors of love, hope and strength.  I’ve seen the wind blow down the mountains and I’ve felt the warmth of friendship and love capture my heart once again.

In some ways it is the opposite of Uganda, but it reminds me so much of the home and community that surrounded me there in the wilderness.  The hardships and lack of comforts are still present, and I can feel the roots of community spreading forth, anchoring me to yet another place.

I go “home” to my parents, and it’s never the same.  I no longer belong there, but I find myself asking “Where do I belong?”

On the road, we find new experiences, new friends, new faces, new adventures, while reconnecting with old friends, visiting places we once knew, and reliving the dreams that we once had all those years ago.

I find God on the road.  Whenever I travel, I can feel him moving, stirring within me.  And every time I settle, I feel that pull on my heart to find something different.  Something more.

I know that I may never have the opportunities to travel like I do now, and at some point, I feel that God will call me to a single place to call my own, but for now, I continue to wander and find these places where my heart seems to belong.

I know that “home” is where the heart is.  But rarely is that a single location.  A solid foundation.  Or a city in a land far away.  The heart is a wanderer that has ties to every single encounter, every single individual memory, every single moment of the journey.  And when people see us once again, they may seem to think that they never knew us in the first place, but the reality is that the distance and time away has changed us, shaped us into who we have become.

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

