Into The Wild

While I’ve never gotten the chance to read Jon Krakauer’s novel (don’t worry, it’s on my extensive to read list), I finally received the opportunity to watch Into the Wild from start to finish for the first time last night (thanks Netflix).  Over the years I’ve seen bits and pieces of the movie, but there were parts that I knew were missing.

For those of you that have never seen it, it’s not a truly happy story, but one young man’s journey to discover the truth about love, happiness, and, in some way, God.  If you don’t want me to ruin the movie, I’d suggest you stop reading now, go watch it, and return to read this at another time.

Several years ago I would have been right there with Alexander Supertramp.  ready to head out into the unknown and discover myself in the silence of the wilderness.  The only difference is that I’m to hesitant, to safe, and have ties that I would not be able to break.

I find it sad that throughout his journey, he surrounded himself with people who loved him for who he was, but it wasn’t until he was starving to death, alone in the Alaskan wilderness that he realized that he could never find happiness in solitude.  He comes into contact with some beautiful people who have the love to welcome him with open arms, but he is consumed with getting as far away as possible that he cannot see that he is happy in their presence.

It’s a tragedy that unfolds before us day after day.  It’s a story that can be seen in all our lives.  I saw it once in myself as I desired adventure chased after the call to Africa with reckless abandon.  Fortunately, I never lost sight of the community that supported me, that fought beside me, with me.

Yes, we can find God in the vast emptiness of the wilderness but as Alexander points out, true happiness comes from companionship.  Being alone, you can never find the peace that you are seeking, you will only find loneliness.

The movie is a great character study of a young man trying to find himself, trying to find his way in the world.  The accounts from his sister, throughout the movie, bring us in to see that our actions, no matter how big or small, will affect those around us.  It is more than a story of survival, but a journey to discovering who we truly are.

And unfortunately the story reminds us that we may never realize what is right in front of us until it is too late.

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. […] the last time I wrote about this movie, I have read Jon Krakauer’s book of the same title.  I’ve explored the vastness of my […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

