Courage and the Will to Fight

Just about two years ago, my sister was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis (MS), a degenerative disease that has brought out the warrior within her as she faces each new day as a battle.  With two young ones (the beebops as they are often referred as) and life as a military spouse, not to mention the flood waters, cold winters and the long distance from family, the journey of life was already a struggle.  Add in MS and the courage and determination that my sister always possessed brought about a change that strengthened her will to fight.

My sister has never been one to stop when obstacles have been put in her way.  Twins born several months premature.  The flooding of Minot, ND that left her newly refurbished basement under several feet of water.  Her diagnosis of MS.  While she has slowed at times, nothing seems to be able to stop her.

When she set her eyes to race in the NIKE Women’s Half Marathon to raise support and awareness of MS, I was hesitant, but I supported her.  I questioned her at times, but I knew that she wouldn’t back down.  It’s not in her nature.

This morning, on her 27th Birthday, my sister crossed the finish line, 13.1 miles, after 3 hrs and 32 minutes.  Her good friend Krys ran with her the entire way, supported by family and friends who lined the course.  While I was unable to be physically present, I am proud of the warrior my sister has always been.

She is an inspiration in my life, to her family, the beebops, and all those that have come in contact with her throughout the years.  I am proud to call her friend and sister.

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

