Far From Home

In the first Lord of the Rings movie, as Sam and Frodo are leaving the Shire, Sam stops and when Frodo asks, he simply states that his next step would take him the farthest away from home that he has ever been.

All the places I’ve been and the things I’ve seen
A million stories that made up a million shattered dreams
The faces of people I’ll never see again
And I can’t seem to find my way home
– Far From Home, by Five Finger Death Punch

Yesterday, the team did a Service Learning activity titled “Songs of Service” where each of us chose a song that revealed how we felt about our service with AmeriCorps*NCCC – FEMA Corps and our time here in New York City in response to Hurricane Sandy.  The songs ranged from REM’s “End of the World as We Know It” to Michael Jackson’s “Man in the Mirror”, Alabama’s “Angels Among Us” to Dave Mathews Band’s “Funny the Way It Is.”

Each of us had a different view on our service, a different song that described how we felt.  As my song, I chose “Far From Home”, by Five Finger Death Punch.

(NOTE: Other songs that I was choosing between included Noah Gundersen’s “David”, Disciple’s “Worth the Pain” and Flobots’ “Good Soldier”)

I feel that every person that I have talked to, every survivor has changed me.  Their stories have echoed within the depths of my heart.  There has been so many of them that their faces have begun to blur.  Their stories blend together within the chaos of this disaster.

For so long I have been away from a place, a location to call home.  For so long I have been traveling around the nation, moving from place to place, never in one place long enough to settle down.  At times it does feel like each step is taking me farther away from those that I love.  Farther away from home.

I look back and can no longer see where I started.  I cannot find my way back to how things used to be.  And while that scares me, it has also given me the strength, the courage to continue on.

Cause it’s almost like
Your heaven’s trying everything to break me down
Cause it’s almost like
Your heaven’s trying everything to keep me out

I feel that God is trying to break each of us down so that He can build us up, give us the strength to let go of the past and continue on.  He has put us in this situation, this place for a reason.  He has given us challenges and he has provided us with the strength to make it through, even if we do not believe that we can make it on our own.

Like any journey, we must continue on before we find our way back home.

Here in response to Hurricane Sandy, all we can do is serve these survivors to the best of our abilities.  To love them unconditionally and to care for them in their darkest of days.

If this is all the love my spirit can give
There is not a reason more to live
– The Tide Began to Rise, by Demon Hunter

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. jwilson1936 Said:

    In the song “Flies on the Butter” there is a part that goes:

    There’s a old black road, Faded yellow center line. It can take you back But it can’t take you back in time.

    Samantha and Aunt Nancy do a good job on the song; your Momma loves it.

    J.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

