Love One Another

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
– 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

There was a time not too long ago that I thought I had given up on love.  I thought that my heart had been broken for the last time and I was going to walk away once and for all.  I was going to focus on God and let him lead my feet along the path of service.

For a long time, I was afraid to love.  I didn’t trust myself because I saw the pain that I had caused through my actions.  I had hardened my heart like stone.

The missions field changed me.  I witnessed true love through those serving others and I began to see it in a new light.  I came to understand love was not as fragile as I thought I was.

I took a chance and God said otherwise.  I didn’t understand him, but I trusted what he spoke into my heart.  And I thought I would just walk away.  And I can see God just laughing at me, smiling because I am the fool.  Again.

I have rediscovered love.  More like discovered what love truly is.

God commanded us to love one another.

This is my command: Love each other.
– John 15:17

Loving is so much more than holding a significant other close, but to give them the support needed to follow their own path laid before them by God.  There are many individuals that I care greatly for, that I have loved and continue to love.

I don’t know how to say it, but I have fallen back in love.  I was blinded by the chaos of life, but spending time in silence at home has freed me to turn back to God and find the love that flows forth from his sacrifice on the cross.

I embrace it once again because that is God’s command.  Without love, we are nothing.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.  But the greatest of these is love
1 Corinthians 13:13

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

