Remembering Giants

Yesterday, I took the oportunity to go across the harbor and into lower Manhattan.  I ventured out by myself in the early hours of the morning, camera in hand, because I knew there was something I needed to see, somewhere I needed to go.

It’s been over eleven years since our nation was attacked that fateful day in September.  Eleven years and for once, I was in the same city with a day off.

I’ve seen the walls of the Pentagon.  I’ve walked the memorial, read the names on the plaques dedicated to those lives lost on those hollowed grounds.

I’ve never gotten the chance to pay my respects to those that lost their lives at Ground Zero.  The First Responders.  The passengers.  The innocent men and women that were in the wrong place at the wrong time.

DSC_2408

It’s interesting walking up to the grounds where those giants once stood.  We forget how small of an area it actually is, until you stand still and turn around, taking in everything around you.  The construction workers.  The noise of the city.  The hundreds of individuals that line up around you to see, to walk the ground that was ripped apart by hatred.  The same ground that brought our nation together.

DSC_2419

We survived that day.  We continue living on.  And we are haunted by the ghosts that surround us.

I didn’t have a spiritual awakening as I walked throught the 9/11 Memorial.  I didn’t feel the pain of regret that I was not there.  I did not come to a greater understanding.  I did not find peace.  It was like everything went silent.  And all I heard was the rushing waters that crash down endlessly.

It was like the empty pit.

DSC_2425

There was something different about that place.  I didn’t feel closer to God.  I didn’t hear their whispers.

I felt the pride and arrogance that makes us who we are.  It makes us Americans.  And I couldn’t help but cringe at the smiling faces and the cameras.  I heard the laughter and I asked myself why I was there.  And I found that I did not have an answer.

DSC_2441

We are a resilient nation.  For days, weeks I have seen the Freedom Tower rise above the Manhattan skyline.  It’s unmistakeable.  I still remember the first night that its lights were lit up after Sandy came ashore.

And every time I can’t help but think of a giant middle finger to the world, instead of the symbol of peace that the Twin Towers reflected.

DSC_2453

The memorial is beautiful.  It has a peacefulness about it that stills the chaos that surrounds it.  Where I found emptiness, others have found strength.

I see a nation that is still holding onto the past, that has yet to learn how to forgive.  And all these years later, blood is still being shed around the world by the brave young men and women that serve and defend our nation.  While the the mastermind of the attacks no longer walks this earth, we have not moved on.

The scars remain marked in the ground and in our hearts.

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. ruthebee Said:

    Reblogged this on Yes I Can.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

