Another Year, Another Adventure

A year ago I finished my adventures with AmeriCorps*National Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) out in Denver, CO.  Through that journey, I traveled across the southern midwest and found myself on disaster response in St. Louis after the Good Friday Tornadoes and then in Joplin a month later.  That was my first taste of disaster response and since then I’ve been hooked. 

In just a couple of days I will be making my way back to AmeriCorps.  On monday, I head down to Vicksburg, MS to begin another year with AmeriCorps*NCCC.  Its going to be different, as this year I will be a Team Leader for the inaugural class of FEMA Corps, the new partnership between the Corporation for National & Community Service (CNCS) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). 

Its going to be different.  I know that.  Again, I don’t know anyone who I will be serving with (though I’ve met some of them via Facebook).  I don’t know the projects.  I don’t have the answers to the thousands of questions that keep racing through my head.  Everything inside me is frantic, panicking because things are still changing, will continue to change.

Yet, at the same time, I feel peace about it.  For the first time in a long while, I know that this is where I’m supposed to be.  I can’t explain it but despite the chaos that my mind, my heart has remained calm throughout this whole process. 

I will continue this blog, remaining focused on faith and my journey with God, but just wanted to give y’all a heads up that changes may be coming. 

God Bess and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. “Change” is the only constant in life. More power to you, Sean.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

