What We’ve Lost

A couple weeks ago I came across a quote that stopped me in my tracks and made me smile.  I’ve always been an artist, putting all my focus into my work.  In college, I would loose track of time while in the painting studios, spending hours hunched over the canvas, spreading paint across its surface.  I start a drawing and can’t seem to put it down until I discover that I need to sleep or there is nothing more to do. 

I put my heart and soul into my work and have lost my mind in the process.
 – Vincent Van Gogh

I think he may be refering to the obsession that led to cutting off his own ear and sending it to ‘the love of his life’ as a sign of affection.  Or it may be the fact that he was loosing his mind because he was cleaning his brushes by licking the lead based paint clean. 

Fortunately, I’m not that far gone.  Have I lost my mind?  Possibly. 

We all have.  We put all our focus into our work.  We are a society driven by the need to continue moving.  We go and go and continue to go just to keep going farther.  We set everything else on the back burner and we loose track of time.  We loose track of a lot more than just time, we loose track of what is truely important to us. 

We distract oursleves from our own thoughts.  We loose ourselves in things that don’t really matter.  We loose our minds because we have poured everything we have into our work. 

And yet we still do it.  And still, I smile. 

My art is an expression of my faith.  Yet at times I’ve felt that I’ve poured so much into my art that I have nothing left to give back to God.  Sometimes I’ve lost more than my mind, I’ve lost myself.

It’s dangerous putting all our heart and soul into what we do.  It’s dangerous forgetting who we are. 

Step back.  Listen to the silence.  Learn to be still. 

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. Millie Ho Said:

    Great quotation, and very true.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

