The Darkness Within

We live in a world that is filled with darkness.  Our society is driven by fear and insecurities.  We are constantly looking over our shoulders, watching strangers wondering if they are the ones that bring forth the shadows.  But I’ve found that sometimes the darkness that we fear is the darkness that we find within ourselves. 

There are times when I find myself asking what is hidden beneath the surface, threatening to break out.  Is it everything that we fear about ourselves, the dark desires and thoughts that creep in in the night?  Is it our insecurities?  Or is something that cannot be put into words?

This darkness is part of who we are.  We cannot escape it because it is part of what defines us.  For me, it is the unknown.   The fear of no longer caring about those that I have come to love.  Of dying emotionally. 

Because I understand the darkness that is within me, I know myself even better.  I recognize the darkness, but I do not embrace it. 

There is a saying, “Keep your friends close, and  your enemies closer.”  We study what we fear because when we understand it, there is nothing there to fear. 

Just some thoughts…

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. […] the past couple of years, I have not had the opportunity to pursue painting, so I have relied on drawing, which I enjoy, but it’s not the same.  There is just something about spreading paint on the […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

