When It’s Hard to Forgive

A month ago I was told by my roommate that I was no longer welcome in his home.  When asked, he told me that I had brought darkness into his house and wanted me gone that night.  He threw accusations of witchcraft and demon worship in my face as I stood there in shock.  I left that night and never returned. 

Over the past month, I’ve looked back and wondered what actually happened that night.  I was angry.  Confused.  And relieved to be out of that house.  But something kept eating away at me. 

In the days that followed, one of the guys that I worked with asked a simple question that stopped me in my tracks.  We were talking about faith, religion and the topic somehow turned to forgiveness.  He asked me how I would ever be able to forgive my roommate who accused me and kicked me out. 

The simple answer that I wanted to say was that I already had, but I knew in my heart that it wasn’t that easy.  I hadn’t found the courage to forgive. 

When Jesus was teaching his disciples how to pray, he included these words in what many of us call the Lord’s Prayer:

And forgive us our debts,
    as we also have forgiven our debtors.
 – Matthew 6:12

Verses 14-15 continues, stating “For if you forgive others when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will nor forgive your sins.”

Before we can receive forgiveness for our own sins, we must be able to forgive others who “trespass against us” (KJV). 

We preach on and on about how we have forgiven, but we too often forget about all those grudges we hold against others.  The guy who just cut us off on the road.  The woman who yelled at us.  The man who accused you of worshiping demons and turning your back to God.  If we cannot bring ourselves to forgive these people, how are we supposed to be washed clean by the blood of Christ? 

It is difficult to humble ourselves enough to let go.  I’ve struggled with it.  I still struggle with it.  But just as we learn to forgive, we learn what it means to be forgiven. 

It is difficult, but through the strength we receive through Christ’s sacrifice on the cross for each of us, we begin to continue down the journey towards forgiveness. 

Have I forgiven my old roommate?  I still struggle with that question.  Just as I struggle with accepting forgiveness. 

God Bless and PEACE

4 Comments »

  1. Anonymous Said:

    you need to become amish.

    • stkerr Said:

      Please, explain why you feel this way. If your going to make a comment like this, you’re going to have to explain.

  2. Anonymous Said:

    because amish peeps are like real good at forgiven and stuff and you need to learn to like forigve like them and stuff

  3. […] a new place that is much quieter, peaceful and closer to work.  It hurt to be accused and it was difficult to forgive, but God gave me the strength, the wisdom and the words to do so.  For a month, I had a letter […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

