And God Laughed

We all know the story.  On the first day, God spoke light into existence and separated it from the darkness.  On the second, He separated the waters, creating the sky.  On the third, he gathered the waters, allowing dry ground to appear and flourish.  And it was good.  On the fourth day, God set the sun to rule the day and the moon and stars rule the night.  And He saw that it was good.  On the fifth, He brought forth life to thrive in the waters and sky, blessing them.  Again, it was good.  On the sixth day, God brought forth creatures, each according to its kind.  He created human beings in His own image, male and female he created them.  Blessing them, He gave them dominion over the plants and animals.  On the seventh day, God rested.  (Gen 1:3-4, 7-8, 9, 11-12, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 26-30, 2:2)

On the eighth day, and every day following since the dawn of time, man has made plans.  And each time, God has laughed. 

And somehow, we never truly learn.  After all this time that we have walked alongside of Him, down the roads that he has laid out for us, we seem to forget something about God.  He laughs at our plans.  He is laughing still. 

It’s been several years that I’ve said that I would follow Him wherever He leads, but so many times I’ve tried to tell God where He should lead me.  Each time, He has been there to remind me that His plan is much bigger than anything I ever imagined. 

A year ago, I was preparing to depart the M/V Africa Mercy.  Little did I know what my life had in store for me.  While I knew I was going into AmeriCorps*NCCC, He hadn’t revealed to me how much I would grow, what I would experience, what I would do.  I trusted Him because He put a lamp at my feet and showed me the way. 

I thought God’s path was leading me one way, the way that I wanted to go, but God has had other plans in these past several months.  I feel like I’m back to step one, trying to refind where God wants me to put my next step.  The immediate, day by day struggle of faith. 

I know God is laughing because I can look back and laugh as well.  It’s only been less than a week, but I can see my folly and failure at trusting in His will instead of my own. 

So, to all those who feel that you are at a dead end, look around and ask yourself if you are following God or your own desires.  The result might surprise you. 

God Bless and PEACE

2 Comments »

  1. Anonymous Said:

    Beautiful Piece…

  2. Reuben Said:

    Thank you for this, Sean. It’s exactly what I’m going through now. God laughs, but not derisively; He laughs with joy. And, oh glory! we can, too, even when our plans and self-identity break around us. It’s all joy. It’s wonderful joy.

    Thanks again.

    P. S. (I think the second sentence of your penultimate paragraph might have a clause flipped. Shouldn’t it read “at trusting my own will instead of His”?”)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

