Old Friends, Forgotten Lives

Since graduating from AmeriCorps*National Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) I’ve struggled to return to the life that I once lived.  I traveled up to Fargo and Minot, ND to visit my nephew and niece/God-daughter, across the states back ‘home’ to N. Virginia and across the ‘big pond’ to visit Ireland with family.  When I’m constantly moving, going nonstop there is no difficulty.  It’s when I stop, try to sleep, begin thinking, try to reach out to friends that I thought I still knew, that is when it becomes difficult. 

I’ve said it before, but just in the past week at home has it really hit, I have changed.  I am no longer the person I once was, when I lived here last.  I see the world differently, with eyes that seem to be recently opened. 

There are friends that I haven’t talked to in what seems like years.  People I once knew when I was somebody different and they expect to hear the same person that they heard ten months ago, two years ago, the last time we talked. 

We have grown up, gotten jobs, created a family, gone back to school.  I have traveled and experienced things that few people have.  I have found passions that were once just ideas, love where there was once just a feeling.  I have changed so much, I no longer recognize those I once knew, old friends that I shared so much with not so long ago. 

Our paths have taken us in separate ways and maybe God will bring our paths together once again. 

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. the only thing constant is change they say…now that i’m in the other side of the world and won’t be going home for years, i wonder how my old friends would be when i meet them? how much would have changed when i get back? how much of me would have changed by then? it’s kind of sad that we all change, but i guess it’s just part of growing up. thanks for posting!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

