Little Miracles

There are moments in life that, no matter how rough the road of life seems to be, one is filled with joy for a single moment.  All the stress, the pain, the frustrations seem to disappear and all the thoughts the constantly flow through your head, all the anxieties, the scenarios, they all go blank. 

It seems like a lifetime ago that I received a call telling me that I was going to be an uncle.  I was training alongside the AmeriCorps NCCC Fire Management Team, Fire 2 and the El Paso County Sheriffs Department.  Then several weeks later, twins.  I was rejoined with my team, Sun 7, in Tulsa, Oklahoma preparing for tax preparations.  Then several months later, as we helped to clean up after the Good Friday tornadoes hit the city of St. Louis, I was asked if I would be the God-father of my niece, Zoey. 

Several weeks ago, my sister gave birth to a set of beautiful, yet tiny, twins.  Neither of them were fully developed, and each day after their birth was another battle and another miracle of life. 

Soon after graduating from AmeriCorps NCCC (National Civilian Community Corps) I mad my way up to Fargo, North Dakota to visit my sister, mother and my niece and nephew.  I didn’t realize how small they were till I held Bryce (my nephew) in my arms. 

As I basked in their presence, everything seemed to fade away.  Yes, I was still concerned about my future, how I was going to get from point A to point B, possible job opportunities, but yet, for those precious moments, none of it mattered. 

To say that these two little ones are miracles would be an understatement.  In their short little lives, they have already had an adventure, though they probably will never remember it (they got evacuated out of Minot, ND about a week or so after they were born due to the flooding).  Each breath is a victory that makes all of us, the family, smile. 

Take a look around you.  There are moments that pass by each and every day that are miracles.  We don’t see them because we are not looking, we are distracted, and we are overwhelmed by our society.  These miracles are the heartbeat of God. 

God Bless and PEACE

 

Leave a Reply

