The Ripple Effect

Have you ever thrown a pebble into a lake and watched as the ripples radiate out, moving across the whole surface of water?  Or, think about this, your life is the pebble. 

Too many times, I’ve heard people complain about how meaningless their lives are.  How no matter how much they do, they will never make a difference.  It just doesn’t make any sense to me, how people can live like nothing they do will ever make a difference. 

Over the past couple years, I’ve traveled across the globe and have met hundreds, if not thousands, of people.  Before that, I was a Wyld Life leader (Young Life for Middle School) and worked two summers at Saranac Village.  I was an Resident Advisor (RA) for a year.  My life has come in contact with so many different individuals, some just by a glance, others with a crash and bang. 

In each interaction with others, we cast a ripple through their lives.  Some, it may just be brightening (or darkening) their day, lingering for moments at a time.  With others, we may alter the path of their lives, through constant and daily interactions.  In the moment, you may never know how you have changed someones life, nor how they changed yours. 

Last year, while serving aboard the M/V Africa Mercy, I met hundreds of crew members, their families and children.  I spent the following three months serving them.  In turn they served me.  Their kindness helped to point me towards God. 

Three individuals, children of crew members, became a constant joy in my life.  Constantly trying to steal my sketchbook, throwing wads of paper, and provoking me when all I wanted to do was ignore the world and put my nose into a book.  These three girls, young women and children of God, showed me that though life may not look so grand, you can always bring joy to your life through your attitude. 

Looking back on all my experiences and everyone that has passed through my life, I cannot begin to understand how much I’ve affected each individual.  No matter how much I look back, I will never comprehend the lives that I’ve changed, both for the good and bad. 

Each life is a ripple across the surface, changing who each of us are.  So, never underestimate the power of a single life. 

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. Nancy Said:

    love catching up on your blog Sean! Thanks for sharing! Love you lots!!
    Aunt Nancy


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

