A Day For Fathers (Of All Types)

On Wednesday, 15 June 2011, I received the news that my sister’s twins were born.  I am excited to say that both are doing well, though a bit tiny considering that they were supposed to be due early September (they came somewhere between week 26 and 27, not exactly sure though). 

My brother-in-law is ecstatic (almost giddy with excitement) and has been posting pictures of his new-born son and daughter up on Facebook every chance he gets.  You can see the joy on his face in each picture and can hear it in his voice whenever you talk with him.  He is a proud father, as he should be. 

A year ago, my own father was surprised by a call from a son whose journey had taken him miles from home, across the sea and into the ‘dark continent’.  Now, he is enjoying the first week of being a Grandfather.  Throughout the years, he has provided each of us (my brother, sister and myself) sound words of encouragement, advice and warnings.  Though a little blunt at times, he has always been there for us, and will be there throughout our lives (and the lives of his two young grandchildren). 

A couple of weeks ago, my sister asked me a question that stopped me in my tracks.  There is a tradition in the Catholic Church (and possibly other denominations) where the parents ask two individuals to be God-parents of the child.  As of Wednesday morning, I now have a god-daughter (making me her God-father). 

My own God-father is an amazing man of faith who has taught me valuable life lessons (mostly about women and dating) which I promptly ignored.  He, like my own father, has always been there supporting me throughout my journey and has a knack of spoiling me (along with my brother and sister) rotten.  Though he is not related to us by blood, he is just as close (if not closer) than family. 

As this is a message about fathers, I cannot forget the support of my own Grandfathers, constantly keeping myself in their prayers.  Nor can I forget my Father in Heaven, constantly leading and guiding me on my path through this journey of life.  Though I sometimes cannot see where he is leading me, I know that his guiding hands have also kept me from danger. 

So, to all the fathers out there, of all types, this day is for you. 

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. Anonymous Said:

    Awesome!!! Happy Godfathers Day Uncle Sean!!! ❤ You are blessed indeed. Thanks for moving me to tears…again! :)))
    love u lots, Aunt Nancy


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

