Smoke on the Horizon

As my AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) team, Sun 6 out of Denver, CO was heading down I-24 on spike travel down to Lake Houston, we were forced to take a detour due to wildfires.  Just south of exit 11 (Trinidad possibly, but not sure) we here forced to turn around and go around the fire zone. 

When we got off the interstate we could not see any fire, nor could we spot smoke in the distance.  As we continued through the detour, off on the horizon I spotted smoke rising off the ridge.  I was fascinated. 

There is something about wildfires that draws me in.  That brings me to life.  Closer to God. 

For me, wildfires remind me of God.  They are uncontrollable, destructive, violent and awe-inspiring at the same time.  They have power that is unstoppable and natures pure energy. 

Yes, they are something that happens in nature.  That would happen whether or not humans were there or not, we’ve just made everything worse. 

And as I watched the smoke rise off the horizon, I couldn’t help but feel God’s presence.  Even as it slowly slipped farther and farther into the distance, I kept looking back wishing I could be on the front lines, experiencing the smoke, the flames, the pure power of the fire storm.

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. […] border, along the side of I-25, trees and soil had been turned black by the flames that passed by several weeks before.  You could see how the fire had changed the landscape for years to […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

