Running With Deer

On Tuesday, my shuffle round team (Sun 6) out of the Denver campus of AmeriCorps NCCC arrived in Williamsburg, Missouri to work with the Conservation Department of Missouri.  After a history of the Kingdom of Calloway, a Chainsaw Safety course and a very abridged fire management course, we started work building firelines today. 

Earlier in the week, as I went for a run down one of the roads in the Whetstone Conservation Area, I heard a crashing beside me.  As I looked over, on the other side of the road were two white-tailed deer, a young buck and a doe running with me.  For those couple of seconds, the world seemed to stand still. 

Part of me was in awe.  These majestic creatures, leaping past.  Elegant and powerful. 

At the same time, part of me was in fear.  In my head, I was yelling, don’t come close. 

This is the same feeling that I have had in the presence of God.  This is how we should feel in the presence of his power.  We cannot understand it, but we should not be comfortable.  God is so powerful, so loving.  We stand before him gazing in wonder, but shaking in fear. 

To say that we are comfortable in his presence would be lying to ourselves and to who we are as children.  As Christians, we should know how scary his presence is.  His will is not our own, we are not in control of this world. 

I had a friend that once told me that the scariest place to be is in the palm of God’s hand. 

While it is awe-inspiring, it is also the most frightening thing to experience.  Like running side by side with deer that could turn at any moment, trample you, gore you, life with God by your side will take your breath away. 

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

