Fire on the Mountain

As many of you know, I was up in Crown King, AZ with Sun 3, one of the Fire Management Teams with AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) based out of Denver, CO.  In the four weeks that I was up there, I fell in love with the Bradshaw Mountains and the mountain community of Crown King. 

The day after we departed the ghost town, we received news of a fire up in the Bradshaw Mountains, between Prescott and Crown King.  While I do not know much about this particular fire, I do know that the Crown King Fire Department did not respond to the fire. 

I could not find any information on the fires condition or the threat to Prescott Nat’l Forest, but I doubt that it is threatening the Crown King community.  I am also sure that the brave men and women that are fighting to control the flames know what they are doing. 

[Edit:  I did find out that the Forest Service had planned to do a 2000+ acre burn a week ago.  This is probably the fire that we heard about as we departed the area.  If this is the case, I’m sure everything is under some semblance of fine.]

This past week, there was also a fire up in Boulder, CO that caught the eye of all three Fire Management Teams here in Denver during our transition week.  All of us had hopes that we may be called up to join the 120+ fire fighters that are fighting the blaze just a small drive up the road. 

Fortunately, we are not needed for either of these fires (which is a good thing). 

I am now preparing to head out to Missouri to work with the Missouri Department of Conservation for the next two months (9 weeks).  As it is shuffle round here in Denver, I get to work with two members of my previous team (Sun 7) and nobody from my current team.  We (the new Sun 6) will be doing various projects out on the prairies and grasslands, from seed collection to planting, building bat/bird houses to prescribed burns up to 200+ acres. 

I am excited and am looking forward to this opportunity, esp. the fire management aspect of the project. 

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

