The Long Road Home

For years now, I have been constantly on the move.  Traveling has become a way of life that has led me to discover who I am as a person, an artist, a follower of Christ.  It is a struggle and a blessing that I have learned to embrace in the past couple years. 

I’ve written about home before, defining what home is for me, but I’ve come to the understanding that, maybe God doesn’t want me to settle down. 

To many Christians play life safe, and I don’t want to fall into that same trap.  In finding a home, we forget to rely on God for our every need.  I know from experience that I to often forget to allow God to provide, even on the road, in Africa, or wherever I am serving.  How much harder would it be if I were not on the constant move?

While spending a couple minutes of quiet time today, I came to the realization that life is more than a destination, but it is the journey that gets us there.  I want to constantly live in that journey, because its the closest I have ever been to my Father in Heaven. 

My home isn’t home anymore, not because it is distant, but because my heart is no longer there.  There is a saying, “Home is where the Heart is”, and I’ve come to realize that my heart is scattered as far as the people of this earth are scattered.  From across Africa to my own back yard, there is no single place to call my own. 

My heart cries out for the people of this world and for the love of Christ to be shared, through the simple act of living in community. 

My dream job would be traveling around Africa and the surrounding continents, living among the people and staying with different missionaries for 3-4 months at a time, telling the story of God’s work through writing and photography.  To share who the missionaries are, more than their name, age and sponsoring/home church, but their lives and how they live.  To share the stories of the people that their lives (and my own life) touch. 

I want to keep traveling, always moving and experiencing the wonders that God has placed in life.  I want to rely on Him and His grace for my every want and need.  I want to experience what it means to rely on the generosity of others.  I don’t want to be comfortable and to settle somewhere God does not want me to be. 

Life is a journey, and I know what is at the end of the road.  Home is not a place I will get to in this lifetime.  If “Home is where the heart is” then my home is with my Lord, Savior and King.  Whether I will see it in this lifetime, or the next, is up to his grace and mercy. 

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

