Giving Thanks

There are so many things that I am thankful for from this past year.  So many people have come into my life and I will never have the words to express how valuable each and every single one of them are.  So many adventures went without a hitch (or as smoothly as possible).  So many things happened in just the past few months, that I could never get them all into words. 

One of the things that I am most thankful for are the people who have shaped me to who I am.  From my parents, grandparents, siblings, teachers and friends, each and every one of them have shaped and molded me into the person I am.  They have given me strength when I was weak, hope when I thought all was lost, and a guiding light that shined and still shines on my path. 

I am thankful for all my teachers who helped to strengthen my knowledge, sharpening my skills and setting me on a path to finish off my college career.  They were (and still are) the builders of a firm foundation that went beyond the classroom, helping me to discover who I was as a human being and as a Christian. 

I am thankful for all of those that I had the privilege of serving with this summer while aboard the Africa Mercy.  They poured out their love and hearts to not only the people of Africa, but to the family and community that has developed within the walls of that ship, spreading out across the world with each person.  No words of gratitude could begin to express how much the Mercy Ships community means to me. 

I am thankful for those I am serving with in my current community, AmeriCorps NCCC.  The team of Sun 7 that has become family in the short few weeks we’ve been together.  The Sun Unit that formed around the gathered group of individuals.  Each and every member who is serving out of the Denver campus.  And the Leaders and Staff that guide us to be the best we can offer. 

I am thankful for the opportunities that life has provided.  For graduating college after four years.  For the return journey back to Africa.  For the solitude of the road trip that allowed me to make my way to Denver safely and allowed me the space to process and think.  For the opportunity to serve yet again, through numerous different organizations. 

But most of all, I am thankful for the family that God has blessed me with.  For a loving mother and father who have supported me through thick and thin with love and a firm hand of guidance that I so often ignore.  For a brother and sister who have walked with me throughout my journey, challenging me and helping me to find something more.  For the family that God has provided me throughout my travels and across the world.  For the faith that each and every one of them have, and for sharing that faith with me as i continue to grow closer to God. 

There are countless other things I am thankful for but words fall short. 

We all are thankful for something, but first be thankful for the little things that remind us of God and the love that he continues to pour out, even in the harshest of times. 

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

