Home

In CTI (basically training for AmeriCorps NCCC) today, the Unit Leader for the Sun Unit, Vaughn Cottman, was talking about those that are home sick and the will-power to fight through and see what happens instead of giving in.  One of the small comments that he made in this little speech was “Home will always be there.”  Given in context, he was saying that this is a once in a lifetime opportunity for some people, and home will be there when we finish or if we decide to leave the program (which I hope nobody does). 

This got me thinking.  What is home? 

As an Army Brat, I traveled across country every two to two and a half years.  Moving from state to state, changing schools and meeting new friends.  It was, and still is, both a blessing and a curse. 

When my father retired from the Army, our family stayed just outside Washington, D.C., where I spent the longest time in one place.  For the past eight years, my parents have lived in the same house.  I spent four full years there, going to high school and then another four years at school in Anderson, SC. 

For me, I call Virginia ‘home’ because that is where my family is.  I have nothing that really ties me down there, besides them.  My friends have moved away or drifted out of touch. 

I consider Anderson University ‘home’ because of the community that I was part of, the strong group of guys and the amazing fellowship of believers that surrounded me and still support me. 

Though I have family in Northern Virginia and community in South Carolina, sometimes I feel as if God has called me to something more. 

Then a teacher of the law came to him [Jesus] and said, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.”

Jesus replied, “Foxes have holes and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.”

 – Matthew 8:19-20

Not all of us are called to settle down and create a home.  When God calls us to serve, he calls us out of our comforts of a home and onto the road of life, where many travel for years, never settling down to rest their heads. 

Home is more than a place with a roof over your head.  It is more than a physical shelter.

Home is where you belong.  It is a place you can go and be true to yourself and true to God.  Many times it is where family is.  Many times it is where you feel the safest.  Many times it is no longer a physical place, but something spiritual. 

I consider me being raised as an Army Brat, moving from one place to another, both a blessing and a curse.  It is a blessing because God has used that experience of constantly traveling to lead me closer to himself.  He has continued to allow me to travel across the states and across the world.  It is a curse because there are so many places that I feel I belong.  From N. Virginia with family to the people of Agule, Uganda to the community of believers at Anderson University to the road, constantly traveling and witnessing new glimpses of God. 

To say that I have no physical home would be a lie.  But if home is where the heart is, I doubt that I will ever settle down, but constantly following the path laid before me by God. 

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. […] written about home before, defining what home is for me, but I’ve come to the understanding that, maybe God doesn’t want me to settle […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

