The Roads of Life

About a week and a half ago I started another adventure in this chaotic life.  Between me getting back from my three months with the Africa Mercy on Sept. 5th and the start of my stay with AmeriCorps NCCC that starts on Oct. 13th, I had just over a month of waiting.  As an impatient and, at times, impulsive person, I could not bear to stay still for that long.  Finally knowing what I was going to do for the next two years of my life, I just could not stay still.  So, after sorting through everything that I owned and packing all that I needed, I threw everything in the back of my Jeep and headed out on a road trip that took me back down south. 

In my first leg of my adventure, I headed down from N. Virginia to Winston-Salem, NC to visit Revo Church, a church plant that came out of the ministries around Anderson University.  I stayed the weekend with some of the guys that I knew from school, hanging out with the core team from Revo and meeting the people of that beautiful city. 

While it was good to catch up with people, I also had the privilege of getting to know a number of their friends, people who in their brief touch on my life, opened my eyes to the glory of God.  In hanging out with them, I got to know their stories and got to share my own. 

After sharing worship with the Revo community and sharing a meal with some of them afterwards, I made my way down to familiar territory.  Sunday evening, I joined the Radius community in fellowship and worship, returning for the first time since graduating from college almost five months ago. 

It was there that I rekindled friendships with the amazing people of the community that I have had the privilege of calling home for the past two years.  It is a family that I have been blessed with and that I am incredibly thankful for. 

From there I crashed with the guys of Anderson University for the week, hopping from one room to the other, as to not get anyone in trouble.  I spent the days hanging out with everyone on campus, catching up with old friends and meeting new students. 

 After spending three months over seas, it was good to relax and talk with the people whom supported me and continually kept me in their prayers.  I got to share the stories of my travels, the worries of my heart and mind, and throw ideas around with brothers and sisters about life, faith and dreams. 

As the week came to a close, I got the opportunity to partake in a couple of photo shoots.  The first was with one of the actors at Anderson University, Dani.  While I have never taken pictures of a posed model, some of them actually turned out to be pretty decent. 

That same night, after playing with an albino bunny, I helped out a good friend with her graphic design project and posed as a wonderful Ichabod Crane (the school teacher from Sleepy Hollows whom may or may not have gotten his head chopped off by the headless horse man). 

Then on Saturday, I met up with Eric and Alivia (two amazing people) and headed out to Yellow Branch Falls (close to Issaquena Falls, but not as big or well known).  In this photoadventure, we got to spend some quality time talking about life and enjoying the beautiful nature that God had put ahead of us. 

After spending a week at Anderson, I continued my way south to Athens, GA, where I met up with grandparents from both sides of the family.  I spent time with my Nana and Papa (my mother parents) and helped as they went through some medical treatments and health issues.  I also got to spend a number of hours with my grandfather, whom to my surprise engaged me in some theological discussions about the church, traditions and faith.  It was a blessing to spend time with them before heading out to Denver, CO for the next couple years. 

One of the things that I noticed as I looked back on the past week and a half is that the road I am on brought me back to the places that I love.  I was constantly running into people whom I knew and meeting people that I didn’t know before. 

In life, our roads diverge and then cross further down the tracks.  We get to see one another grow physically, emotionally and spiritually.  I got to see that growth in the brothers and sisters of Revo and Anderson University.  Though our paths are separate, God brings us back together to celebrate all that he has done. 

While my road-trip is far from over, I now part for a couple days of solitude and reflection.  Just me, God and a thousand unanswered thoughts in my head.  While I don’t expect God to reveal everything to me, I hope to grow closer to him as I explore everything that he has placed in front of me. 

I know that this road will lead me to where God is calling me to be.  My advise for everyone out there who is afraid of where God is leading them:  Go on a road-trip with God and see whose path you cross. 

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. Nicole Klimow Said:

    Hi Sean!
    Your adventures sound so exciting 🙂 I’m so excited for you and all that awaits. I’m in Nevada…not far from Denver should you need anything.

    Sincerely,
    “Miss” Nicole


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

