Mercy Ships Support (Modifed Support Letter)

In the past couple years, God has allowed me to live an adventurous life, serving others on the college campus and out in the world, including the people of Uganda this past summer.  After Graduation, God has given me another opportunity to travel with Mercy Ships’ Africa Mercy this summer, from the beginning of June till the middle of September.

Mercy Ships is a global charity that has operated hospital ships in developing nations since 1978.  Africa Mercy is the 499-foot hospital ship with six operating rooms, intensive care and ward bed space or up to 78 patients that serves up and down the west coast of Africa.  Since February 10, 2010, the Africa Mercy has been docked at Lome, Togo, where it provides medical treatments and community support structure. 

I have the privilege of serving aboard Africa Mercy in the dining hall this summer, rom June 1 till early September, when the ship docks in South Africa for repairs.  I will be spending three and a half months serving the medical staff and other ship personnel.  I am excited to see how God will use this opportunity to teach me how to love and serve others to the best of my abilities. 

I am extremely excited about this opportunity, but I can’t do it alone.  Behind every person in the mission field, there is a strong support team.  First and foremost, I ask that you pray that God moves in both big and small ways through this opportunity.  Please pray for both me and those whose lives will be touched through this adventure.  Pray also for the strength, health and courage of every member aboard Africa Mercy.

Secondly, I ask, i you are able, to support me financially.  For each month, the Crew Fees aboard the ship are $650, plus an additional recommended $150 for personal needs and miscellaneous other expenses.  In addition to this, I also need to raise finances for airfare there and back, another estimated $2,500.  In total, for the three and a half months serving aboard Africa Mercy, I need to raise $5,300.  Any money raised over this amount will give directly to any of Mercy Ships’ needs.

Any size gift you can give will be of great help.  You can donate online at my personal fundraising page through the Mercy Ships website. 

I look forwards to serving aboard Arica Mercy and am excited about returning to Arica this summer!  I look orwards to sharing this adventure with everyone, here on this blog, though I will have limited internet capability while aboard the ship.  Again, I thank you for helping me to persue this oppertunity to serve aboard Mercy Ships.

More information on Mercy Ships can be found at their website.

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

