Securing a Stable Future in Faith

Throughout the past year and semester, I have had many people asking me what I plan to do after I graduate in May.  The one thing that i have learned in the past couple years at Anderson University and through walking in faith is that God loves plans.  He loves to laugh at them and then just rip ’em apart.

My greatest fear after i get out of school: settling down.  I dont want to become another face in the workplace, sitting at a cubicle or doing something for someone else.  I want to live, and love what i do.

My dream ‘job’ would be a missionary in Uganda, living amongst the people and relearning how to see the beauty that God has placed in this world.  I would love to be free from the chains of money and just live through the word of God. 

Unfortunately, that’s not how the world works.  This dream is something people look at, then say “Yes, that would be great, BUT you have to … ” then they list off a hundred different things that our society tells us we have to do. 

We must secure a stable financial future for ourselves and our future family.  That’s all good and dandy, but that isn’t what God is calling us to do. 

One of the loudest voices I hear in my life is my dad.  I love the man, he spent 21 years providing for our family by serving in the Army.  He sacrificed a LOT to give us everything we have, to put three kids through college. 

Since I’ve been home for Christmas break, I’ve heard a hundred times that I need to have a back up plan, in case things don’t go through.  I have heard him tell me so many times that I need to find a job that will pay well enough that i can start saving up money for the future, even if that means not doing what i feel called to do.

I understand that he is concerned, because he sacrificed so much to give me the oppertunity to be where I am now, BUT his way of life is not how I want to live. 

I want to put all my trust in God. 

I want to rely on HIM, so I learn how to quiet my own self. 

I want to LOVE Him through how I LIVE my life. 

I want to YEARN for Him in everything that I do. 

Don’t get me wrong, I want to have a family, a wife and kids, but I never want to settle down into the norms of society.

I know it’s going to be a struggle, but I am willing to face it with all the Love in my heart. 

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

