In Throwing Out Tradition…

Recently i was Baptised (my thoughts on baptism and my reasons why are comming at a latur date).  Since then, i have had a couple people ask me, “Well, arn’t you a Catholic?”  No. 

I can no longer call myself a Catholic.  Just as i cannot call myself a Baptist, or Lutheran, or any of the hundreds of denominations out there.  I am Christian, nothing more, nothing less. 

When i told my old suite mate this, he looked at me and blatantly stated that i had joined the “Emergent Church”.  Unfortunately (or Fortunately, however you want to look at it) I had no clue in what he was talking about.  To this point, i really hadnt done research on the Emergent Movement of the modern day church. 

In looking briefly at the Emergent Church, i see a few (very few) similarities with my own philosophy of the church.  Definitions are similar, but not the same. 

Traditions are important to the church (Religion and the Community of Believers), so when we start throwing out traditions, are we throwing out God and only choosing to keep what we like?  It is alright to question, but seek the truth, not what you want to believe. 

The truth can only be found through God.  Through Faith. 

I still have yet to fully comprehend what it means to be a Christian, and part of me hopes never to find all the answers, so that i continue to grow in a relationship with God.  If i stop questioning, and stop finding answers (even if they are more questions) then i will stop growing closer to God. 

Just some thoughts on tradition…

God Bless and PEACE

1 Comment »

  1. […] a year ago, I criticized the Emergent Church for throwing out the traditions of the church.  Now, I clarify what I wrote earlier this morning (see previous […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

