Expectations of the World

Have you ever felt overwhelmed by the expectations of the world? People expect so much out of you, but sometimes it seems that what they expect is not who you really are.

Some of the biggest expectations come from parents or family, who often expect their children to stay safe, to be good, to be financially secure, to know what their future holds. While not all of these are negative, sometimes it goes against what our plans are, and more importantly, what Gods plans are.

Some of the most influential expectations do not come from people we share blood with, but those that we spend most of our time with. Our friends. Teachers. Coworkers. Classmates.

It’s not always what people say, but how they act while they are around you. The small gestures or facial expressions can be far more powerful that what is said to your face. How people react to things you do or don’t do can be more hurtful and influential than what they say about you when you are not around.

I have a problem with how people act around me. Some people expect me to be something that I am not. They expect me to be a person who will take their side, without knowing the full story. They expect me to be tied down by money and how financially insecure my future seems to be. They expect me to be a significant other to someone, when my significant other is God and God alone.

People seem to be afraid to say this to my face, but I can see it in the way they act around me and how they act when they don’t think I am in the same room. I can hear it in the way they talk to one another, or through the words that spill out in frustration. I can feel it in the way they look at me, with eyes that expect something that isn’t there.

Maybe I don’t want to be this person they expect me to be. Maybe I don’t want to be tied down by the lack of money, but to live day by day on the love of God. Maybe I don’t like it when people expect me to do things to please them, because they are sending the wrong signal to all those that watch my every move. Maybe I don’t want to care about what they say about me, because I don’t want to be somebody that they want me to be. Maybe I don’t want to be the perfect artist, because if I were perfect, I wouldn’t have anything to strive for.

For so long, I’ve let the expectations of others rule how I act.  Sometimes it feels like I’ve forgotten how to live for God because I’ve lived for others for so long.

Well, some expect me to be somebody I’m not.  Now I’m being who God calls me to be.  I hope and pray that you will do the same. 

God Bless and PEACE

Leave a Reply

